Extra Effort Recognition Program
Thursday May 23rd, we honored 12 La Crosse students who have truly given the “Extra Effort” and overcome long odds to accomplish amazing things as they graduate from high school. Tom Berkedal and David Stoeffler from our Youth Committee was joined for this special program by Rusty Cunningham, editor of the La Crosse Tribune.
This program borrows its name from the Tribune's longstanding “Extra Effort Awards” program. For 23 years, the Tribune has shared the stories of area high school students who have overcome serious obstacles. Each year, the Tribune gathers those students -- one from each school -- and awards thousands of dollars in scholarships provided by generous donors, many of them members of the Rotary Club of La Crosse.
Front: Anna Van Riper (Aquinas), Sudha Schultz (Aquinas), Kayley Colburn (Central), Racelyn Tolomei (Logan), Jordan Johnson (LaCrossroads)
Back: Jacob Savoldelli (Aquinas), Andriel Morgan (Central), Cydney Livingston (Central), Patrick Schwabenbauer (Logan), Byraius Moyer (LaCrossraods), Cheyanne Mattie (Logan)
Missing: Christian Dungy (LaCrossroads)